This Is Day of Remembrance, Not Day Of Service

In a tacky move and utter lack of understanding for the significance of September 11th, the Obama administration has attempted to change today from a Day of Remembrance to a Day of Service.  I laugh at such a thought since my understanding of the left’s ideas on “service” are forcing acts of “charity” upon people.   People who served in a way I can never imagine or match, gave their lives on September 11th, 2001.  I will not denigrate that service with some trumped up idea of “service”.  There are those who serve in our military in a completely self-sacrificing way as well that we think of today as they fight evil personified around the world that brought this terrible attack to our shores.  I do not expect Progressives to understand.  After all, they were the ones who rushed to blame America first for bringing this hatred upon us.  How can we help that terrorists hate our freedom? 

September 11th, 2001 changed me in a radical way.  I wrote last year:

“I saw evil that day personfied.  I saw my country attacked in a way it never had been attacked before.  At least with Pearl Harbor, a war was being conducted in the world so there was some kind of “reason” for the attack.  I became connected to my fellow man because we all experienced the same thing and were left in a funk and left fearful and most of all, left very angry.  And President Bush who didn’t excite me enough to get me to vote for him, won my support that day.  I certainly have not agreed with him on everything and this second term has left me wondering if voting for him was a good idea, but on September 11th, 2001, I was so glad and proud he was my President.  The actions and comments that came from the far left caused me to really look at what I believed in my life.  The weeks and months after the attacks and hearing the stories of the heroics of the people on Flight 93 and the first responders made me look at myself and ask what it was I believed in.  As people started breaking out their patriotism again, I found myself wondering what it meant to be an American.  What is America about and what were we founded on.  It was a journey of self-discovery.  At the end of it, I found myself a person of strong convictions with fierce loyalty to country.  I woke up and realized that liberals were driving America to destruction and the only reason I could figure out why was because they actually hated the country they lived in.  I realized that the Democrats had only used gay people to get their votes.  Why Clinton signing the Defense of Marriage Act and giving the military “Don’t ask, don’t tell” didn’t wake me up, I don’t know.  I realized that voting on just one issue doesn’t give one clear thinking.  There is not one politician or party that is going to be everything you want.  I registered as a Republican, although lately they have disappointed me enough that I just call myself conservative now.  I gained a new appreciation for our military.  I was raised in an Army family, but I always took that for granted too.  And most importantly, I stopped taking freedom for granted.  I realized what a precious gift it is and how hard you must fight to keep it.  It has become the most important thing in my life next to God.  He first gave it to us and our Founding Fathers reminded us what that entails.”

On that day, 2,974 lost their lives and 24 remain missing and presumed dead.  I will be paying tribute to those people today and joining in solidarity with my fellow Americans.  Today the Freedom’s Wings Show will air a special broadcast, “9/11 In Remembrance”, and I invite you to join me.  The show will air at 3pm ET, but you can listen to it anytime after that in archives: http://www.blogtalkradio.com/freedomswings.  God bless those that died, their families left behind, the American people and God bless America!

2 responses to “This Is Day of Remembrance, Not Day Of Service

  1. The volunteers that flooded Ground Zero with helping hands, ministry, good, blankets, and necessities is the volunteer spirit of USA. We don’t need to pretend somehow we need to channel this spirit. Just like the minute man, the Americans will be there whenver needed, without President Obama’s prodding.

  2. Amen Hoboduke and the idea that the Obama’s thought painting a room equals that volunteer spirit is laughable.

Leave a Reply

