Abortion, Obama And A Place Named “Notre Dame”

The University of Notre Dame has a monumental problem and that is the man perched at the head of the university, Rev. John Jenkins.  Rev. Jenkins decided to invite President Barack Obama to speak at the commencement ceremony today at Notre Dame.  A firestorm has ensued due to the fact that Notre Dame is a Catholic institution and President Obama is a full supporter of slaughtering babies both inside the womb and, in some cases, outside the womb when they survive botched abortions.  Several seniors will not attend the ceremony in protest and outside Notre Dame, protestors have been demonstrating for over a week.  Several arrests have been made including those of Dr. Alan Keyes and Father Norman Weslin.

The issues for Notre Dame go deeper than just inviting the President to speak.  Rev. Jenkins has written, “I am saddened that many friends of Notre Dame have suggested that our invitation to President Obama indicates ambiguity in our position on matters of Catholic teaching. The University and I are unequivocally committed to the sanctity of human life and to its protection from conception to natural death.”  Rev. Jenkins has tried to defend the invitation by citing the University’s “long custom” of conferring honorary degrees to sitting U.S. presidents.  He went on to praise the President’s policies on immigration and health care.  He continued, “Ultimately, I hope that the conversations and the good that will come from this day will contribute to closer relations between Catholics and public officials who make decisions on matter of human life and human dignity.  There is much to admire and celebrate in the life and work of President Obama.”

Personally, I am still searching for what exactly it is that I am suppose to admire and celebrate about Pres. Obama.  We have no school transcripts or any writing other than self-serving biographies.  Arizona State University did not present Obama with an honorary degree for those reasons I believe.  And as a Christian, I refuse to celebrate a man who supports the holocaust on the unborn.  I am not a Catholic, so I do not have a “dog in this fight”.  But I do have an opinion on abortion and I know that it aligns with the teachings of the Catholic church.

“For you created my inmost being; and knit me together in my mother’s womb.  I praise you because I am fearfully and wonderfully made; your works are wonderful, I know that full well.  My frame was not hidden from you when I was made in the secret place.  When I was woven together in the depths of the earth, your eyes saw my unformed body.  All the days ordained for me were written in your book before one of them came to be.” Psalms 139:13-16 NIV

I believe that life begins at conception because that is what God has said in His Book.  An unformed body is the egg and sperm together at conception.  We are wonderfully made from start to end and not just some blob of tissue.  To be lead in this country by a man who thinks that an ideology on abortion is “above his pay-grade” is sickening.  I have no degree, but I know life and even when I was wishy-washy in my beliefs on this topic many years ago, I still knew that anything past the first trimester had to be murder.  Even those that have the most flaccid opinions on abortion have to agree that infanticide is murder and our President when given the opportunity three to four times to support legislation that would protect born babies of botched abortions, chose not to grant that protection.

So the question becomes, is this Notre Dame’s attempt at prestige or just a tradition that was not carefully thought about in full?  I am unable to fathom any reason for inviting this man to speak and the controversy and repercussions on the University are not worth it and already $14 million in alumni contributions have been lost. 

I applaud the brave men and women protesting today and stand with them in spirit even as the media networks have committed to not air the protests and journalists like Amy Sullivan of Time claim that the protestors are “a small but vocal group of conservative Catholics.”

8 responses to “Abortion, Obama And A Place Named “Notre Dame”

  1. You’re quoting poetry to try and prove an absolute?!?
    Good luck with that, genius…

  2. I don’t understand why you equate Obama solely with abortion. I agree we shouldn’t hero-worship the man, but Notre Dame has been inviting presidents to speak at commencements for years, Democrat and Republican. Why should Obama be different? I’m also positive commencement speakers in the past have been pro-choice, but because they weren’t president, the public didn’t know.

    I respect your religious beliefs that abortion is wrong. But I believe you’ve been misled to associate the president with everything you hate, much as my side was encouraged to see only the bad in President Bush. Why not allow the graduates to have their ceremony and discuss the actual problem of abortion without resorting to ad hominem attacks against the speaker?

    • Phil, Notre Dame is Catholic, otherwise I could care less that he was speaking there. Catholism has made teaching against abortion one of its key doctrines. Plus the fact that Obama is as far left as you can get on abortion. None of my attacks were ad hominem – they were facts about the truth behind this man: he protects infanticide!

  3. I am pro-life but believe that he had the right to speak at the school.

    There is no different set of rules for the president than there is for the common citizen in this regard. Many people who support abortion have stepped foot on campus and you can be sure that they’ve had debates in the classroom. It is a college university after all.

    Ryan

  4. “When I was woven together in the depths of the earth, your eyes saw my unformed body.”

    You were woven together in the depths of the earth?

    Where exactly in the depths of the earth were you “unformed” “woven”?

    You guys could find religious messages in a LLBean catalogue.

    • Gus – really?! It does not offend me half as much when you compare God’s Word to an LL Bean Catalogue as it does Him. I was merely quoting Him.

  5. The crux of the issue is that this is a Catholic university conferring an honorary degree on a man who supports, at all stages, the destruction of life. If people have a hard time understanding why so many Catholics find this objectionable, then they either have the inability to reason or they aren’t overly bright.

    You nailed it.

    Obama was so full of “newspeak” in his ND address that I was nauseated. How can people come together halfway between life and death? Empty platitudes that make everyone feel good, but don’t address in any way the underlying issue.

Leave a Reply

