Stop HR1444: The Real Mandatory Service Act

Many of us conservative bloggers had named HR1388 or the GIVE Act a “mandatory servitude bill” but in actuality the mandatory part had been removed from the bill before passage.  That is because that mandatory bit has been formed into a bill of its own that is called HR 1444 or the “Congressional Commission on Civic Service Act”.  If we thought HR 1388 was heinous, just look at what this bill contains:

Under Duties, Section 4:

(5) The effect on the Nation, on those who serve, and on the families of those who serve, if all individuals in the United States were expected to perform national service or were required to perform a certain amount of national service.

(6) Whether a workable, fair, and reasonable mandatory service requirement for all able young people could be developed, and how such a requirement could be implemented in a manner that would strengthen the social fabric of the Nation and overcome civic challenges by bringing together people from diverse economic, ethnic, and educational backgrounds.

(7) The need for a public service academy, a 4-year institution that offers a federally funded undergraduate education with a focus on training future public sector leaders.

(8) The means to develop awareness of national service and volunteer opportunities at a young age by creating, expanding, and promoting service options for primary and secondary school students and by raising awareness of existing incentives.

(9) The effectiveness of establishing a training program on college campuses to recruit and educate college students for national service.

I believe this bill speaks for itself. Get on the phone and call those representatives. This bill is currently in the House.

3 responses to “Stop HR1444: The Real Mandatory Service Act

  1. There’s one particularly interesting aspect about H.R. 1388 (in its original form) and H.R. 1444 that I haven’t seen anyone comment on yet. While both of these legislative abominations creats disturbing images of ALL Americans (young & old, rich & poor) being forced to serve his/ her federal government master under the guise of allegedly voluntarily giving one’s time, neither bill made any mention of what means would be used to coerce such servitude.

    I don’t know about anyone else, but I have no intention of voluntarily abiding by any law that forces me to provide any public service. So the question that begs to be asked is this. So what exactly does my government plan to do to me to make me change my mind? It’s kind of like when the government says thou shalt not drive over 65 MPH on State highways. I know that there’s a fine and points on my license if I don’t obey the limit. I also know that if I continue to disobey and get caught, I’ll lose my priviledge to drive. But what bad thing happens if I don’t “volunteer”? And what happens if I go along with the program, but siomply don’t do the work I’m assigned to do? They gonna shoot me? They gonna lock me up? These people are serious a-holes!

    • Good questions Rick! I’m there with you – no “volunteering” for me. That’s why they want our guns.

  2. Great site this freedomswings.wordpress.com and I am really pleased to see you have what I am actually looking for here and this this post is exactly what I am interested in. I shall be pleased to become a regular visitor🙂

Leave a Reply

