Sarah Palin Shines In ABC Interview

Despite the fact that the wolves were waiting to pounce, Sarah Palin was confident and strong in her first national interview with Charles Gibson from ABC television.  There were no stutters or stammers like we hear with Barack Obama.  There were no indications that she was going to spend $3.5 billion a year on national service programs like we heard from Barack Obama in his service forum last night at Columbia University.  Sarah started off on strong footing with this exchange:

GIBSON: Governor, let me start by asking you a question that I asked John McCain about you, and it is really the central question. Can you look the country in the eye and say “I have the experience and I have the ability to be not just vice president, but perhaps president of the United States of America?”

PALIN: I do, Charlie, and on January 20, when John McCain and I are sworn in, if we are so privileged to be elected to serve this country, will be ready. I’m ready.

Sarah continued that she had no doubts whatsoever when asked.  That is a leader!  Here are her words:

PALIN: I — I answered him yes because I have the confidence in that readiness and knowing that you can’t blink, you have to be wired in a way of being so committed to the mission, the mission that we’re on, reform of this country and victory in the war, you can’t blink.

Gibson continued with a line of questioning I’m sure he hoped would trip her up about national security and her lack of experience in those areas.  Sarah kept the focus where she is strong and that is on energy independence.  Even after Gibson tried to brush aside her answer and stated that national security is more than energy Sarah said, “It is, but I want you to not lose sight of the fact that energy is a foundation of national security. It’s that important. It’s that significant.”  Gibson also asked if she had met any world leaders and that is possibly one weakness she has because she has not.  But she is not running for president and has plenty of time to meet many of them in her preparation to one day be president.  And personally, I would rather have someone inexperienced in this area then one who is ready to drink tea with terrorists (and has been friends with home grown terrorists like Bill Ayers).

The strongest part of the interview was a point where Gibson had planned to really get Sarah and the reason I know this is because he didn’t play in its entirety a message that Sarah had given from her church when speaking about the War in Iraq.  Sarah even comments that she doesn’t think it was her entire comment and Gibson lies to her and says it was.  Here it is:

GIBSON: You said recently, in your old church, “Our national leaders are sending U.S. soldiers on a task that is from God.” Are we fighting a holy war?

PALIN: You know, I don’t know if that was my exact quote.

GIBSON: Exact words.  (This is a blatant lie!)

PALIN: But the reference there is a repeat of Abraham Lincoln’s words when he said — first, he suggested never presume to know what God’s will is, and I would never presume to know God’s will or to speak God’s words.  But what Abraham Lincoln had said, and that’s a repeat in my comments, was let us not pray that God is on our side in a war or any other time, but let us pray that we are on God’s side.  That’s what that comment was all about, Charlie. And I do believe, though, that this war against extreme Islamic terrorists is the right thing. It’s an unfortunate thing, because war is hell and I hate war, and, Charlie, today is the day that I send my first born, my son, my teenage son overseas with his Stryker brigade, 4,000 other wonderful American men and women, to fight for our country, for democracy, for our freedoms.  Charlie, those are freedoms that too many of us just take for granted. I hate war and I want to see war ended. We end war when we see victory, and we do see victory in sight in Iraq.

GIBSON: I take your point about Lincoln’s words, but you went on and said, “There is a plan and it is God’s plan.”

PALIN: I believe that there is a plan for this world and that plan for this world is for good. I believe that there is great hope and great potential for every country to be able to live and be protected with inalienable rights that I believe are God-given, Charlie, and I believe that those are the rights to life and liberty and the pursuit of happiness.  That, in my world view, is a grand — the grand plan.

Can I just say – “I love this woman!”  How refreshing to hear someone speak this away about God and our place in the world without fear of being politically correct and all that baloney.  Reminds me of someone else great – oh yes, Ronald Reagan.  Gibson asked her about the Georgia and Russia issue next.  And Sarah reveals that she may not have met with the Georgian president, but she spoke with him and gave her commitment to him.  Gibson tried to indicate that Sarah would be willing to go to war with Russia over Georgia and she indicated that if Georgia is allowed to join NATO that would be our duty.  I know the press only takes the liberal side on these issues, but Georgia is our alli in this, not Russia.  Russia is Communist again even though the rest of the world is in denial about this.  This exchange reveals the media bias:

PALIN: First off, we’re going to continue good relations with Saakashvili there. I was able to speak with him the other day and giving him my commitment, as John McCain’s running mate, that we will be committed to Georgia. And we’ve got to keep an eye on Russia. For Russia to have exerted such pressure in terms of invading a smaller democratic country, unprovoked, is unacceptable and we have to keep…

GIBSON: You believe unprovoked.

PALIN: I do believe unprovoked and we have got to keep our eyes on Russia, under the leadership there. I think it was unfortunate. That manifestation that we saw with that invasion of Georgia shows us some steps backwards that Russia has recently taken away from the race toward a more democratic nation with democratic ideals.That’s why we have to keep an eye on Russia.

The interview then turned to Iran who’s leader Obama would meet with for tea and no preconditions.  It was another great moment for Sarah that gives me the confidence she will help McCain to protect us:

GIBSON: But, Governor, we’ve threatened greater sanctions against Iran for a long time. It hasn’t done any good. It hasn’t stemmed their nuclear program.

PALIN: We need to pursue those and we need to implement those. We cannot back off. We cannot just concede that, oh, gee, maybe they’re going to have nuclear weapons, what can we do about it. No way, not Americans. We do not have to stand for that.

GIBSON: What if Israel decided it felt threatened and needed to take out the Iranian nuclear facilities?

PALIN: Well, first, we are friends with Israel and I don’t think that we should second guess the measures that Israel has to take to defend themselves and for their security.

No matter how hard they try, Sarah just shines.  She is saying what we want to hear and she really means it.  She doesn’t play politics.  How refreshing!  There was some miscommunication in the next part of the interview.  Gibson was looking for a certain answer on the Bush Doctrine and I don’t believe Sarah knew exactly what he was talking about.  I have to admit, just like Sarah who I relate to, I wasn’t sure what he meant either.  He could have asked the question in such a way that she would clearly understand, but he didn’t.  In the end she gave great answers:

GIBSON: Do we have the right to be making cross-border attacks into Pakistan from Afghanistan, with or without the approval of the Pakistani government?

PALIN: Now, as for our right to invade, we’re going to work with these countries, building new relationships, working with existing allies, but forging new, also, in order to, Charlie, get to a point in this world where war is not going to be a first option. In fact, war has got to be, a military strike, a last option.

GIBSON: But, Governor, I’m asking you: We have the right, in your mind, to go across the border with or without the approval of the Pakistani government.

PALIN: In order to stop Islamic extremists, those terrorists who would seek to destroy America and our allies, we must do whatever it takes and we must not blink, Charlie, in making those tough decisions of where we go and even who we target.

GIBSON: And let me finish with this. I got lost in a blizzard of words there. Is that a yes? That you think we have the right to go across the border with or without the approval of the Pakistani government, to go after terrorists who are in the Waziristan area?

PALIN: I believe that America has to exercise all options in order to stop the terrorists who are hell bent on destroying America and our allies. We have got to have all options out there on the table.

Sarah did wonderful with her first national speech at the GOP Convention and she has now done great with that first “big” interview.  No teleprompter needed.  While Sarah talked about leading this great country forward the way the Founding Fathers would, Obama was telling America how many new government Corps he was going to start like a Senior Corp. and a Clean Energy Corp. and expanding AmeriCorp and making us all feel mutually responsible to serve under the government rather than the way this country was set up.  Charitable organizations and churches are suppose to do that work, not the government.  This is all code to ease us into a Marxist state.  Sarah Palin is going to ease us back into freedom.

3 responses to “Sarah Palin Shines In ABC Interview

  1. Ahhh okay I don’t know who you are but you’re a man/woman after my own heart!! I too love Sarah Palin and I too agree that she did an incredible job in this interview!

    Thanks for the comment and that was a very interestign point you made about Ponius Pilate washing his hands and the people aultimately crucifying Jesus- so very true and profound.

    Thanks, I’m going to dive into your blog now!

  2. You are hysterical! This is the funniest thing I’ve read in ages! Keep writing, because this fiction is AWESOME!

    OBAMA / BIDEN ’08/12

  3. Hey Twit – your intelligence amazes me!

Leave a Reply

